by admin

On January 1, 2018, new California drug laws went into effect that made sales of recreational marijuana legal. This law is known as Proposition 64. However, there are still some stipulations about how much marijuana a person can possess without being at risk for potential charges. Here’s what you should know about marijuana-related California drug laws.

What Are the Major Changes to California Drug Laws Regarding Marijuana?

On January 1, 2018, those in California were no longer required to have a medical marijuana card to legally purchase marijuana as long as they buy it from licensed shops and have identification that proves they are 21 and older. A person can buy up to 1 ounce of cannabis or 8 grams of cannabis concentrates (found in “edibles”) on a daily basis. Pot is still illegal to sell between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. in California.

A person can also still grow up to six marijuana plants in their home as long as the plants aren’t in public view. They must be in a locked and secured space to prevent others from obtaining them.

Medical marijuana cards will still exist, and those with cards will have some advantages. For example, those with cards don’t have to pay sales tax (roughly 8 percent) on their purchase. They can also purchase products with higher concentrations of THC – the active substance in marijuana – of up to 2,000 milligrams. Recreational cannabis is subject to state sales tax as well as individual taxes depending on the area where it’s sold.

How Does California Drug Laws Affect Employment?

While recreational marijuana may be legal in California, employers still have the right to drug test employees as well as enforce zero-tolerance drug policies in the workplace. For example, while alcohol is legal to drink for those older than 21, going to after drinking or drinking at work is not legal. Industries to which safety is especially important are most likely to enforce these policies. This includes construction and manufacturing, where employers have an interest in keeping employees from being impaired in any way. However, those who use marijuana for medical purposes may be exempted from a zero-tolerance policy, depending on the circumstances.

What Are California Drug Laws on Traveling With Marijuana?

If a person is driving in their car and has marijuana that is less than one ounce or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis, they can drive with marijuana in the car, providing it is in a container in the car’s trunk. A person can’t legally smoke marijuana in their car or drive under the influence.

People also can’t smoke marijuana on the streets or in other public places. If the police catch them doing so, they may be subject to fines of between $100 and $250. However, people can smoke in their homes, on private property, or in designated cannabis lounges.

Airplane passengers traveling within California can possess the amounts listed in the previous paragraph. However, when a person goes in the air, they are technically in federal airspace. Therefore, landing in another state or using marijuana in the air could mean a person is subject to charges.